Another Lampshade…

Lamp I seriously love making these Lampshades!

Lamp3This shade was made to complement the gift my Mom painted for me this Christmas. She’s quite talented… I’m sure she wouldn’t mind if you checked out some of her other work!

Lamp2 For this shade, I started with 7 different colors of Dupioni Silk – 2 yards each, but ended up using only 6 colors. Playing with the colors is part of the fun and I never quite know how it’s going to look until I start laying out the colors. I marked the shade with 1/2″ increments to keep the rows of Dupioni Silk relatively straight.

Dupioni Silk is my favorite for working on a tapered lampshade. The bias cut allows the ribbon to give a bit more on the wider side of the shade.

Lamp4 A 9mm wide French Velvet was placed at the seam, giving it a nice finished touch!

Leave a comment