Christmas Lampshade…

IMG_8601

My favorite use of Dupioni Silk is creating decorative Lampshades. This is my first Christmas shade!

IMG_8590

What makes Dupioni Silk so perfect for this project is the bias cut. When using a cone shaped, tapered lampshade it’s important that the Ribbon have some give. Starting with two yards each of these Dupioni Ribbons: Evergreen, PoppyPearl, Dahlia, Peridot, Pewter, Celery, and Corazon. I did have ribbon left over, but I like playing with the layering as I go. It’s the design process I enjoy most!

IMG_8595-1First I rolled on a layer of glue.

IMG_8596-1Starting with Evergreen Dupioni Silk, I started layering. It’s important to note there will be seams in this product, so be sure your ribbon is right side out!

IMG_8597 IMG_8598-1After I added each layer of Dupioni, I added more glue.

IMG_8599-1Finally, after all the layering of Dupioni Silk was complete, I folded Corazon Dupioni over the top and bottom edges.

IMG_8602Lastly, I added a piece of Scarlet French Velvet at the seam.

If you create one of these shades using Ribbon Jar Dupioni, we will post all the shades and each entry will get $10 towards their next purchase!

HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

