Quilting and Italian Fettuccia….

IMG_3849With my fabric stash growing exponentially, it was time to make a quilt. My daughters suggestion of simply sewing strips of fabric together was enough to get the creative juices flowing! I started by cutting each color of fabric into different widths 1″ – 2 1/2″. Then I played around with the fabric laying it out into a desired layout and stitched approximately15″ worth of fabric together (each 15″ section would be different). Next I would cut each 42″ X 15″ section into 4 pieces and these would become the long panels of random colored pieces you see above.

IMG_3864I knew I wanted to use Lavender Italian Fettuccia Ribbon as an accent for this quilt. I love the dimension it adds as well the bonus of making my stitched pieces appear straight. I made a run to Greenbaums Quilted Forest to find the perfect fabric to separate the panels as well as the backing for this quilt, other than that, I had all the fabric I needed.

IMG_3855 As a designer I love playing with color and the lavender in this quilt complements the warm analogous color scheme quite nicely. What do you think?

IMG_3867Adding a salmon flat piping to the binding will finish this project nicely.

IMG_3848But before I can add piping and binding I will need to quilt this project, I mean…  I will need to have someone quilt it for me : )! If you have any suggestions or ideas of how that should be done, I would love to hear them.

2 responses to “Quilting and Italian Fettuccia….

  1. Pingback: Time to think Fall…. | Ribbon Jar·

Leave a Reply

