Adding Ric-Rac…

IMG_6858

You can take a simple dress pattern and make it something special by adding a touch (or more) of Ric-Rac. I added  Imperial Gold 17mm Ric Rac to this little summer dress… because I believe that summer will come!

IMG_6807

Adding ric-rac to the collar was easy by first basting it by machine to the right side of the fabric:

IMG_6809

The I placed collar pieces together and stitched to the inside of the basted stitch:

IMG_6810

IMG_6812

Once stitched together I turned right sides out and pressed:

IMG_6811

Confession… My iron was turned on a bit to high and I melted one side of the collar and had to make another! Lesson Learned… Ric-Rac will melt when placed under a really hot iron!

IMG_6814

After pinning the collar to the dress I added some bias fabric cut from my stash:

IMG_6839

I love how these fabrics work together:

IMG_6840

IMG_6843

It’s important to snip the seams around the armholes so the seam binding will lay flat when pressed open:

IMG_6844

I Seriously love how the fabrics and ric-rac work together.

IMG_6848

Next I added ric-rac to the bottom half of dress by pressing a line for the ric-rac to follow:

IMG_6846

Then folding it over and top stitching:

IMG_6847

Sweet…

IMG_6851

A fun little flap with a button covers the zipper:

IMG_6854

I know there are so many awesome ways to sew a zipper in that I didn’t think it was necessary to show how I did it.  And seriously… If I can’t get the pattern placed on the fabric right side up what makes you think I can sew in a zipper properly… and that is why I have that cute little button covering it up!

IMG_6853

2 responses to “Adding Ric-Rac…

  1. Pingback: Soap & Washcloth… | Ribbon Jar·

Leave a Reply

