Italian Ribbon and A Table Runner

Last month we introduced you to Nati in a Newsletter.  You can find her at Nati’s Little Things and her patterns on Craftsy!

And for us she created this amazing Table Runner!

Tabble runner - RJ 9I’m going to let her give the details of this project…

fabric stash news 3I started with a few yards of the lovely Passamano in bright colours… (sorry I have some dotted ping ribbon in the picture as well, but that one was not used in this project!).
Then I found some inexpensive linen (yes of course at Ikea). It is a mixture between linen and burlap I would say and it looks really rustic and just what I wanted.

Step 1: Cut the linen to your desired size for the table runner + .5 inch length and width for sewing allowance. Mine was 90 x 50 cm.Tabble runner - RJ 1Step 2: Start playing with the ribbon, and pin it down when you like the way it looks. I went for lines that cross one another and a few that also bent. I looked modern and funky to me, but you can let your imagination fly, this ribbon twists so nicely!

Tabble runner - RJ 2

And keep on going, cutting and adding until it looks finished to you… mine looked like this:

Tabble runner - RJ 3Step 3: With a basting stitch (I hand sew mine to make sure it stayed where I wanted it to) sew all your ribbon down to to fabric. You could go straight to the sewing machine but I found it easier to have the ribbon already stitched before I started with my machine.
Tabble runner - RJ 4

Step 4: Then I did go to the sewing machine (little helper included) and sewed the ribbon down. I used a matching thread for each ribbon and sewed on both sides very near the edge.

Tabble runner - RJ 5
For the crossing points, I basically jumped (lifted the needle and moved the fabric across) to where the other side of the crossing. then just cut and hide the threads. Like this:

Tabble runner - RJ 6

When I finished it looked like this:

Tabble runner - RJ 3

And a few close up shots of the corners… they are just so pretty I can’t help myself.

Tabble runner - RJ 8

Step 5: To finish I cut another piece of linen and simply sew both pieces right sides together leaving a little opening to turn inside out and finished with a row of stitching 1/2 inch (1cm) from the border.

Hope you liked the project and it inspires you to create something new!

Nati

3 responses to “Italian Ribbon and A Table Runner

  1. Pingback: Washing Italian Ribbon! | ribbonjar·

  2. Pingback: Need Inspiration? | Ribbon Jar·

Leave a Reply

